About POM

POM Limburg is the economic accelerator of Belgian Limburg. An intersection of cross-pollination, with our gaze firmly on the future.

Who are we?

Limburg is the friendliest province in Flanders to work, do business, innovate, and excel, with POM Limburg as an economic accelerator. Commissioned by the provincial government, the POM team works on innovative projects that will make Limburg more digital, low-carbon and scalable. They do so in five sectoral clusters:

  • logistics
  • manufacturing economy
  • energy and circular economy
  • life sciences economy
  • construction

To achieve this, POM Limburg connects businesses, employees, local governments, knowledge institutions, and civil society.

As Limburg’s economic director, POM Limburg is in charge of the development of new business parks, innovative campuses, and spatial master plans. The POM team fuels the economy with data, sets up future projects, connects companies to the ecosystem, welcomes international businesses, and combines strengths on platforms for every core sector. The focus is always on digitisation and sustainability.

POM Limburg is governed by the social partners and local and provincial mandate holders, led by chairman and deputy Tom Vandeput and managing director Noël Slangen.

POM Limburg is the economic director that brings together entrepreneurs, employees, knowledge institutions, governments, civil society, and citizens on platforms and in projects. Our goal? Addressing the economic challenges of the future.

All good things come in threes

Our focus is on strengthening Limburg as an economic pioneer region. As such, we invest in innovative leverage projects. Boost Bouw Limburg, From Waste 2 Profit, the Einstein telescope, digital care innovation and the Expat Centre Limburg are some examples of these projects.

Three objectives run like a thread through our operations:


Tom Vandeput (CD&V), the Economy deputy, chairs POM Limburg as the representative of the provincial government. Managing director Noël Slangen is responsible for the operational management of POM Limburg. He reports to the executive committee and the Board of Management.

  • The executive committee consists of six delegates from the social partners and six representatives from the local governments. They determine the day-to-day policy.
  • The Board of Management consists of twelve representatives from the social partners and twelve representatives from the local governments, both majority and opposition. They determine the strategy.

(the members marked with (*) are also members of the executive committee)

Provincial deputy for Economy
  • Tom Vandeput – POM Limburg Chairman – CD&V (*)
Public sector
  • Jochen Schuermans – POM Limburg vice-chairman – N-VA (*)
  • Raf Truyens – CD&V (*)
  • Danny Deneuker – Vooruit
  • Frank Dewael – Open VLD (*)
  • Stefan Govaerts – CD&V
  • Marleen Kauffmann – CD&V (*)
  • Leo Joosten – Vlaams Belang (*)
  • Luc Wouters – CD&V
  • Anniek Nagels – CD&V
  • Jean-Paul Peuskens – Vooruit (*)
  • Marc Vereecken – N-VA
  • Ismail Ayed – N-VA
Employers’ organisations
  • Hendrik Essers – VOKA-KvK Limburg
  • Karin Van De Velde – VOKA-KvK Limburg
  • Johann Leten – VOKA-KvK Limburg (*)
  • Geert Lambrechts – UNIZO Limburg (*)
  • Ruben Lemmens – VKW Limburg (via Unizo)
  • Peter Bruggen – Boerenbond (*)
Workers’ organisations
  • Joke Man – ACV Limburg (*)
  • Nele Vanoevelen – ACV Limburg (*)
  • Ruth Vaes – ACV Limburg
  • Ine Berben – ACV Limburg
  • Rohnny Champagne – ABVV Limburg
  • Pierre Vrancken – ABVV Limburg (*)
  • Andres Vandereycken – ABVV Limburg


A team of more than 40 employees draws up economic plans on behalf of the Limburg provincial government and puts them into practice.

POM Limburg does not attach importance to age, gender, colour, or orientation. With us, only qualities count.

Spatial economy
Stijn Vercampt
Tim Vanduren
Inan Asliyüce
Denise Mathijs
Kristof Delwiche
Marijke Gorissen
Platform and project work sectors
Jean-Pierre Boons
Jan huysman
Elisabeth Piens
Annelies Gorissen
Karmien Nackaerts
Bahar Kavas
Valerie Bauvois
Johan Boonen
Maxime Corvilain
Jorg Roosen
Lieve Hauben
Bruno Geerits
Sara Smeets
Katrien De Paep
Celien Froeyen
Martijn Helsen
Britta Mulleners
Sam Jordens
Joost Van Aelst
Noemi Casas La Mattina
Griet Verhaeghe
Knowledge cell
Joeri Luyten
Wouter Vanderbiesen
Tim Vandenbrande
Communication and events
Tanith Van Damme
Alyssa Horemans
Zoë Smeyers
Legal service
Anaïs Brouwers
Jill Thierie
Personnel and Finance
Monique Billen
Secretary's office
Hilde Vanheusden
Managing director
Noël Slangen

POM regularly collaborates with:


© POM Limburg 2023
POM Limburg implements the socio-economic policy of the province of Limburg.

We use cookies or similar technologies (e.g. pixels or social media plug-ins) to optimise your user experience on our website, among other things. In addition, we wish to use analytical and marketing cookies to personalise your visit to our website, to send targeted advertisements to you, and to give us more insight into your use of our website.

Do you consent to our use of cookies for an optimal website experience, so that we can improve our website and surprise you with advertisements? Then confirm with ‘OK’.

Conversely, would you like to set specific preferences for different types of cookies? This can be done via our Cookie Policy. Would you like more information about our use of cookies or how to delete cookies? Please read our Cookie Policy.